UK Quilters – where to start


????????????????????????????

We have a wonderful history of traditional quilting in the United Kingdom wonderful Welsh quilts, wholecloth quilts and paper pieced quilts.  Great information about these local traditions is held by the Guild of Quilters of the British Isles.  When I have some spare money, I will be joining.

If, like me, the idea of of all those little bits of paper and fabric and those hand turned seams is a bit intimidating you might take a look at American style quilting instead.

I must admit to trying to do the little hexagons when I was a child, and it may be that I do have a lot more patience at this ripe old age but somehow I doubt it.

I started using precuts (mostly by Moda as these are the most affordable here) as I was not confident with scissors and cutting out, the fact that all that was done for me was a real boon.

The Moda Bakeshop gives some great inspiration and projects are graded on difficulty and I have been very inspired by the tutorials I have watched by the Missouri Star Quilt Company and their video tutorials.  Jenny Doan has a wonderful way of making it seem simple and achievable.  It’s a great starting point.

I have made things I would never have imagined I could achieve and Free Motion Quilting has become something of a favourite after intially terrifying me.

I now belong to a wonderful group of quilters on Etsy, mostly from North America, all different and inspirational.  Please visit the team shop, not necessarily to buy but to be inspired by their talent and creativity

2 comments

  1. RosMadeMe

    I, too, am a big fan of Jenny and her daughter… the other great quilter who makes me roar with laughter is another Jenny, Jenny Rayment. Have you tried the no-waste flying geese?

Leave a Reply

