Busy, Busy, Busy


Image

So after all the gardening of last week we have had a week of Siberian winds to keep us all safely tucked in doors.  Over on the Quiltsy Team discussion thread there was some talk about the way we all work.  I have to admit to being a bit of a flitter.  Perhaps I have ADHD; I do and have always become easily distracted.

This week I have finished (well almost) a quilt that has been on the go since last summer (it’s the one above).  It has changed quite a lot during that time.  It was originally intended for my MIL who wanted something with mexican type colours so I found some hand dyed charm squares that fit the bill and thought they would work well with white.  She wanted it as a wall hanging that could double as a bed quilt.  Anyway when she saw the part pieced quilt she didn’t like it and now I have free reign to go and do something else for her.  She’s a bit of a fuss pot so I’ll probably do my own thing instead of trying to work out what I think she’ll like.

Anyway, it is, like I said, almost finished.  It is called Prairie Charm and has a red woven gingham backing with a printed white daisy on it and a chambray border.  It’s quite simply quilted.  I love the colours and would be inclined to keep it for myself but my quilts have to work for their living.

I also pieced a little blue and white one with charms called Spa by Deb Strain; it is the baby brother to the star bed runner.  I’m waiting on a delivery to finish it.  I was going to quilt it with celtic motifs but might change my mind about this, hoping to get it done tomorrow or Friday.

Image

Image

 

Anyway, being at a loose end I decided to start the special quilt for Arty Daughter and her beau.  Not sure what I’m doing wrong but perhaps someone will pop along and let me know.

I am using layer cake squares to make 2.5″ strips to make 4 patch blocks and then cutting other layer cake squares into 4 5 inch squares to make HSTs with.  My HSTs are bigger than my 4 patch blocks: is this right?

I sewed them together and got this:

ImageAnd most of you will recognise it as one block of a Jacob’s Ladder quilt – if I am doing it wrong or the HSTs should be smaller, please let me know as the Maths of it all slightly frightens me.

Anyway, I’m off to post this on the Quiltsy Team blog in their Work In Progress Wednesday bit; it’s my first time – I hope it’s okay to ask stupid questions.

 

 

14 comments

  1. DownHome Designs

    Fiona, it looks good to me, but if the HSs are bigger it’s probably bc there are more seams in the 4 patches so more fabric is used up in the seams. BTW I love your blue and white quilts.

  2. Thebutterflyquilter

    I agree with Downhome Designs about the block. I also love your blue and white. Can’t wait to see it quilted!

Leave a comment