Not silent Sunday


 I don’t really understand the silent Sunday concept, perhaps someone will educate me. 

This week I have been getting ready for the fete at Merafield View Nursing home next Friday afternoon from 1.30pm, doing some marketing and getting ready for self-employment again.  I’ve sorted a business account, spoken to tax credits, investigated changes to our income and we are looking for opportunities for John’s artwork, and he’s going to be trying to do some more illustrative stuff which I actually think suits his style. 

He has had so much to overcome during the past few years, it’s quite amazing to me that he is willing to try anything again but the idea of being in this quasi dormant state until death us do part fills neither of us with glee.  If the medical professionals could get their fingers out perhaps we would have something of an answer or at least an idea of whether or not stroke number five is a foregone conclusion or just a possibility.  I know which one the balance of possibility dictates.

Life, chez nous, is not, contrary to my tone, all doom and gloom.  We are basically happy.  We have lovely children and we love each other, our cups runneth over. 

This afternoon I shall be cheating in the kitchen; I’m going to use a Wright’s Carrot Cake Mix.  I haven’t tried it before and bought it out of curiosity, not normally being one for cake mixes.  I do sometimes use their bread mixes as they work quickly, even on a wintry afternoon.  Obviously full of flour “improvers” and other dubious things to help things along.  After that I will return to knitting penguins and jumpers and bells.  I will let you all know how I get on, carrot cake is so yummy it might be nice to have a cheat which doen’t involve grating.

Life is to short to have just one knitting project on the go. 

In other news and thanks to my ex-sister-in-law I have been spending a lot of time over at attic24, drooling over her crochet work and her life to be brutally frank.  If any of you lovely people could actually show me how to crochet I would be immensley grateful.

Leave a comment