Handmade Monday 40


A bit of a go slow today with my frequent bout of sinusitis taking me by the bootstraps and giving me a bit of a drubbing; haven’t got all I planned to do done but at least I vacuumed the stairs and the faux shagpile has now gone.

I have revisited some stamping, having seen something about stamping on Create and Craft the other day about the correct way to cut out my rubber stamps.  The two designs pictured here are House Mouse designs available over on the Joanna Sheen website (although I’m not sure if these designs are currently in stock).  Anyway, the stamping this time has been a lot more successful.

They are stamped onto white card blanks in pigment ink and then have a layer of clear embossing powder applied.  This gives a (very) slightly raised surface to the black ink and provides a nice resist to my somewhat cack-handed colouring.  BTW did anyone else call the little white gaps in “colouring in” holidays?  No?  Just me that’s loopy then – glad that phrase wasn’t broadcast on national television then!  The designs are then handcoloured with a combination of letraset Flexmarkers and Promarkers.  Who knew I would ever love felt tips?

I was supposed to be posting my little blue tam o’shanter for Handmade Monday 40 – almost worth having a baby for.  But due to having come back from holiday/not being able to find a single thing in the entire world and my phone charger being the thing saught in that entirety – I cannot take any more photos until I locate it.  The cards are therefore scanned.  The one above is called “Run, run …” and the one below I have called “Rudolph”.

Like my other cards, these will be available for sale in my etsy shop or if you are around in Plymouth on Friday, at the Uni Craft Fair.

 

19 comments

  1. Ali - Ali's Craft Studio

    I love the House Mouse designs – I have a couple of very large stamps featuring them which I found in a ‘bargain bucket’ at a craft shop and couldn’t resist them (even though I don’t use stamps anymore!!)

    Ali x

Leave a Reply

