December 3 – remembering Falmouth Docks Carols


Well I had a busy day yesterday, making some little Owly phone pouches and then off to a ladies evening in Holbeton.  A lovely quaint very old village with beautiful buildings and rude inhabitants (not all of them just the one who shouted at John).  Anyway, quite a lot of business but on the second floor where apparently some people didn’t know there were any stalls.

I’m off to meet a new friend today for coffee in town – I’m a bit nervous and out of the way with having friends – it’s been a long time – work friends and aquaintances, yes but not out for coffee type friends.  I feel like I’m going on a date!!!

In keeping with the spirit of the season I am recommending for you While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks by Night; not the dirge we all sang at school but this version which I sang at carol services at King Charles the Martyr in Falmouth for several years and with the Falmouth Docks Christmas Eve Carol Crawl.  Lovely memories of Mr Eddy and Sid Bryant singing in the church.  Unfortunately I could only find a comedy version which won’t send the hairs up on the back of your neck like hearing it properly would – if anyone can point me in the direction of a better more representative version I would be grateful

Leave a Reply

