St Distaff day blues


I thought I would share with you my latest little creation which was originally going to be called the Putting on the Itsy Bits Ritz quilt due to the combination of Moda and Makower fabrics used, but will, from now on be known as the Little Boy Blue quilt.

It is made from about 2/3rds of a Moda Putting on the Ritz jelly roll and about 1 1/2 yards of Makower Itsy Bits yardage.  This is not because I am the devil may care, throw caution to the wind, kind of woman, it’s because the lady in the nice fabric shop had matching fabric but couldn’t sell me any due to her block of the month club.  Frankly it would have been better to tell me she hadn’t got the matching yardage.  Anyway the Makower is a very near match and is for the back only, which will be stippled, so is not really a problem.

Being on a budget, I am always looking for ways to make my fabric purchase better value for money and have been busy looking at prices of the different precuts.  In the UK layer cakes and jelly rolls seem to be between £25 and £30 ($39-$46) and charm packs £8.50 – £11.00 ($13-$17), in fact it seems to me that the retailers sometimes just swap the dollar sign for a pound sign.  Imagine my delight to have found a secret (well I suppose not if I’m sharing it with you) stash of delightful charm packs.

At this point a drum roll feature would be excellent WordPress, let me introduce, Melody from Fort Worth, Texas and her Etsy shop Melody of the Heart.  I currently have, winging their way to me, 9 charm packs in three designs for a total of £62 ($93) including shipping – which works out at just less then £7 a pack – I haven’t found better value anywhere else at the moment but if you can do better …. Please pay her a visit; amazing value and a lovely friendly service too.

In other news, I am just waiting now for some batting so that I can complete Ruby and her friend.  I am currently hand quilting Little Boy Blue (see below) but am waiting for a free motion quilting foot and my try machine quilting Ruby to see which I prefer.

7 comments

  1. opusanglicanum

    I think a lot of quilting and embroidery shops deliberately overcharge – there are some places `I just wont go because thier prices horrify me. people who charge reasonable rates like your melody friend get far more business from me

  2. Oh Sew Tempting

    Hi, I live in the UK and once got stung by customs/tax plus an £11 handling charge for Royal Mail’s privilege of opening my package and collecting the duty from me. I’m still upset about it! The needlework kit I ordered only cost about £25 and wasn’t available in the UK which is why I ordered from USA. I hope you don’t incur extra charges like me. It just seems so unfair. Avis x

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      I have been charged duty before (on some printed merchandise featuring my husband’s designs) but not so far on fabric – perhaps I will/ perhaps I won’t this time – I looked at the rates the other day and thought I would be okay but perhaps not. £25 is very low.

  3. An Older Woman

    I gasped when I saw this hand quilting. No one (well, hardly anyone) in this country does this any more, except me and rarely anymore. We have those big machines so that all our quilts look like they are mass produced in China. I applaud you for taking the time, and continuing the skill and tradition, of hand-quilting. This is beautiful, by the way.

    I’m not sure how I found you. It was one of those moments of jumping from link to link, or a comment. I’m not sure. But I’m glad I did. You are a quilter extraordinaire! I’ll bookmark and be back. Patsye

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      I don’t know what to say – I’m quite blown away by your comments – thank-you so much for your encouragement; I must admit that I did think perhaps I was a little mad but then I just google and find something else hand quilted and I’m re-inspired and although it is time consuming I enjoy the hand quilting – I can’t cope with thimbles so my fingers are now getting nicely hardened!

Leave a Reply

