Handmade Monday 48


Though, in truth, only about my fourth I think.  This was the Christmas present that made the supreme sacrifice and didn’t get finished until yesterday.  A substitute present had to do but then a bottle of Chanel No 5 is always an acceptable substitute, n’est-ce pas?

It is crocheted in Mano Del Uruguay lace weight wool in baby alpaca, silk and cashmere in a shade called Iris (perhaps it lost something in the translation) which is much more cracked black pepper than rainbow.  I used a pattern from Cute and Easy Crochet  by Nicki Trench and adapted it, figuring that the recipient (John’s Mum) would prefer a scarf sized scarf rather than something 64 inches wide – I’m still sure that’s a misprint.

Anyway it was put away in the last minute quilt and jumper frenzy – oh there may have been some cooking in there too – who makes two Christmas cakes, I ask you? When I took it out again I found that I had made a mistake and that one end wasn’t true so I had to rip it out and start again to about 1 1/2 inches from the beginning.  It does feel gorgeous – I blocked it yesterday and think I prefer the before version but that’s me just a messy so and so.

I hope she likes it anyway – and perhaps you will too.
Welcome to every one visiting from Wendy’s Handmade Monday over here; and to all my new quilty friends please pay Wendy’s blog a visit; lots of other clever handicrafters over there.

21 comments

  1. An Older Woman

    Absolutely lovely. Lucky her. It’s so delicate. You must have good eyesight.

    I also visited Wendys, and liked her painting of the VW van.

    I’m somewhat bummed by a problem that has stopped me in my tracks with my latest punch needle project. I need to find or invent something, and no doubt this will slow things down for my pattern project. But the silver lining is that I have a moment tonight to visit others and see what people are getting done – while I’m NOT.

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      I think your punch needle work looks very enticing but I really must not start any new crafts for at least a month. Where can I find out more about it? I hope you get a resolution to your problem soon but thank-you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

