Progress


I normally like to show you something finished for Handmade Monday but due to a TMD (a Thread Miscalculation Disaster) on Friday I couldn’t finish quilting the top of Ruby although, as you can see, significant progress has been made.  The thread is now on its way from Cottonpatch.

I haven’t quilted this by hand, I’ve used my new toy: a free motion embroidery foot for my Singer 1507NT.  I haven’t followed the usual rules about not going over the lines and perhaps it looks a little messy to some but I’m pleased with the overall appearance and the back looks as good as the front.

What I did finish was the quilt label – I wish my photography was up to snuff but you can just about make out my name.  The date I suppose is somewhat premature but it has to be finished by 2 February (as does Oops a Daisy) as I have a Craft Fayre on 3 February.

I have finished a couple of other things in the last week as well – and they will be adorning my stall too; they are all available for sale in my etsy shop as will my Phoenix Trading cards.  Let’s pray for some good luck and some good sales – the washing machine died over the weekend and this morning we found a puncture on the car!!!

 

It is the coldest day of the Winter so far – I woke up cold and thought the heating had failed to come on – it was on just not making much impact on the frosty morning – wherever you are keep warm and enjoy the sunshine and if you want something to warm the heart go and visit the talented crafters over at Handmade Monday 49.

26 comments

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      I thought about changing thread to white (it’s quilted in a variegated oyster grey Gutermann Sulky (who new they had thread to fit my demeanour) because patience is not a virtue I have in abundance. But instead did the sensible thing and ordered some more and now just have to wait ….. thanks for the lovely comment

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      Hello Alison
      It took me an afternoon to piece the patchwork then all day Friday to put the border on, sandwich and quilt it. I would have finished that on Friday if it hadn’t been for the TMD. I have made my own binding for it so I should be able to bind it in a morning. In future though I will be thinking more about designing a pattern, the random look is lovely but I would like to be a bit less haphazard 🙂

  1. Cameo

    I want to try free motion quilting. Even disobeying the “rules”. I have only done straight line. I don’t think my machine is capable.

    The quilt looks phenomenal! Love your colour choices.

  2. Susie

    Well, I usually end up with an empty bobbin, which may not seem a big deal until you realize I still have to get my book out to figure out how to make the machine wind more on! LOL But I understand, however it’s just awesome! Great work. 🙂

  3. diane

    oh no! How annoying! Well it looks super! I to have just started using a freehand embroidery foot on my machine too, quite difficult to get the hang of!!

Leave a Reply

