Goodbye Ruby Tuesday


I actually managed to finish her on Monday but owing to the dismal weather and me being involved in lots of voluntary things this week, it has taken me until now to post here.  I am very pleased and also a litlle bit bemused as to why these quilts have adopted genders!

As said before Ruby is made from 1 charm pack of Moda Ruby with 5 inch border of an aqua and cherry fabric from the Ruby range.  this has also been used for the backing fabric.

It is bound in an ice blue plain cotton from the Bella solids range.  I don’t have a particular thing for Moda although I do love their fabrics but I’m trying to make my quilts work together and at the moment I lack the experience to be able to tell if different manufacturers’ fabrics will work as well together.  I’m playing it safe, if you will.

It is stipple quilted in the colourful central panel in

my own unique messy style using a variegated pale grey Gutermann Sulky thread and in places it has been unpicked due to tension  problems when I was nearing the end of my reel.  It looked more like crochet than sewing. The batting is Warm and Natural.  I’ve used it for the others too but again this is down, really to a lack of experience in anything else.  Another happy accident.  It seems to be well regarded but I just found it originally at a good price for what I wanted (a cotton batting).  I thinking of using Heirloom wool batting for commissions – I suppose that depends on the price the client is willing to pay.  I have one in mind for myself which will use wool batting and William Morris fabrics.  For our new house 🙂 .

I am satisfied with the overall standard of finish.  I just have to work out now how much to sell them for.  I have a craft fair next Friday at the Roland Levinsky Building in the University of Plymouth and would like to get them on my etsy shop over the weekend with some other bits.  So if you have any experience in this (pricing quilts for sale) please contact me.  Ruby measures 36″ square.  It has been washed and has that slightly wrinkled quality that I love.

I’m currently working on a new project for next week’s craft fair and will hope to post the results on Sunday for next week’s Handmade Monday – next week is busy again with a day at Bristol with the Phoenix team, a day interviewing for this voluntary thing I’m doing and the Craft Fair on Friday – I think Thursday may be a bit fraught.

9 comments

  1. quiltaholic

    I used wool batting once, admittedly on a dark coloured quilt. I found it was subject to ‘bearding’ I believe it is called and little bits poked through the fabric. It didn’t help that I forgot the recipient was allergic to wool. It will be warm and light though which is a plus.

  2. Oh Sew Tempting

    Ruby is gorgeous 🙂
    Guess what!!!!!! My charm packs arrived from USA today and DH let me open the package even though it isn’t my birthday until next month. Thank you once again for the recommendation. They have now been put away to be gift wrapped so I can open them all up again.
    Good luck with your craft fair too! Avis x

      • Oh Sew Tempting

        I replied to this a couple of days ago (hopefully on your blog but who knows where?!! sorry).
        I bought one of each of:
        Hello Luscious, Etchings, Fa La La La La, Dogwood Trail, Rose Parade, Grace, Summer Breeze II, Pom Pom de Paris, Nature’s Chorus. They have now been hidden by DH hehe.

      • fionamaclachlanmorris

        Hi Avis yes I found my comment and your reply on your blog earlier!! They all sound lovely. I really liked the Rose Parade. I have been busy using up my Puttin on the Ritz jelly roll because I told myself I wasn’t allowed to unroll my new Terrain jelly roll until I’d finished the other. Just have about 4 inches left and I’m going to turn that into buttons! Not sure what to do with the Terrain yet.

Leave a Reply

