Intercepted


Disappointment seems to follow swiftly on the heels of disappointment in my little life.  Closely followed by a swift kicking .  Are you detecting a particular tone to this post?  Sorry about that.  It seems that despite suggestions from our social landlord that due to our circumstances we may be eligible for an early move it now seems that we are not and that by the time we do move there will be none of the new houses that are suitable and adaptable left.

I know I shouldn’t have trusted the woman in the office gotten my hopes up but I just wanted something nice to look forward to.

In an attempt to cheer myself up I was playing old TV themes – it’s a game we used to like to play, our own version of Name That Tune, but during the course of this little interlude it emerges that John can no longer remember that Jason King drove a Jensen Interceptor.  The only reason I have ever heard of a Jensen Interceptor is because John used to bang on and on and on and on and …. about Jason bloody King and his Jensen bloody Interceptor.  I feel bereft.

I have a lovely report from the lovely psychologist to tell us that actually after all the brain mashing John is still average with some particular difficulties thrown in for good measure but was highly superior before.  I had actually worked that one out for myself but ho hum.  There are whole chunks of our life and of his own that he can no-longer remember and every time I am confronted with it I feel gutted again.  It is almost seven years since this nightmare began.

 

4 comments

  1. Annette James

    I am so sorry that you seem to have missed out on the house youwanted. Its even sadder that you seem to be carrying the load on your own, perhaps trying to spare other people the pain. I used to have a brilliant memory but find there are odd little things that I seem to have forgotten. I tell myself it is age but at the same time, I’m aware that a few of the memory cells must have been damaged when I had my stroke. On a brighter note, just this last fortnight I seem to have stopped having the feeling of vertigo when i go outside. Its 3 years to the week when I had my stroke, there are improvements, you just have to keep trying.

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      Hello Annette, have you made it back from your mum’s or are you stuck in the snow. Sorry for the melancholia, the coincidence of a number of minor irritations seem to have brought the world crashing down. No doubt I’m a little hormonally challenged or something 😦 . I’m sure I’ll be back to my normal self shortly 🙂

  2. Oh Sew Tempting

    Do you know what? There will be loads of people out there who are having the same problems as you. When they read your post, they will be comforted by the knowledge that they are not alone and it will prompt them to talk/write about about it as it really does help. I totally understand how it feels to be abandoned by the officials who are supposed to be making life that little bit easier to manage. My Dad had a stroke a few years ago and he can’t walk and do all the things he used to do. My mum who is now 80 cares for him 24/7. Who knows, how she copes. Yes, she gets frustrated at times and lets it all out but most of the time, like you, she keeps her chin up and somehow keeps going. The carers are the special people in our world and they shouldn’t be forgotten. Feel free to let off steam whenever you want to BUT also keep quilting too! Sorry about the long comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

