Bony fingers


bony fingers

 

In the dim and distant days of my childhood, when readymeals were new-fangled Americanisms and you had to wait for the television to warm up before watching it, there was a song played by Terry Wogan with monotonous regularity that went something like this “Work your fingers to the bone, what do you get? Bony Fingers!”

I’ve woken up with this in my head this morning and I’m sure it has to do with the fact that I’m currently sewing a set of patio suite covers for a client which are going fine but I’m hating.  It’s not really my bag.

I have a gorgeous bed runner I’m currently working on in Deb Strain’s Spa using a Missouri Star big star technique.  My hands, my fingers, are itching to get back into it but I have to finish this set of covers by the weekend.

I also have 3 layer cakes in Harvest Moon sitting waiting to be turned into a “Hannah & Richard quilt” – this is to go with “Hannah’s quilt” that she already has but is for a single bed.  Hannah is moving to Bristol tomorrow and I hope that they will both be very, very happy.  He is a lovely man and makes her happy.

You would think that I would just get on with the blasted set of covers but it’s a bit like going back to the woven mat I had to do in needlework at school.  I wasn’t allowed to move on to the next thing until I had finished it but I hated it – it took me 9 months to finish in the end, it was a double sided six inch circular mat of woven wool and it took me a whole school year to finish.  I really can go slow with things when I don’t like them. Bleugh.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

