New Garden … for the Quiltsy team


So with a new house comes a new garden.  When we got the keys it looked something like the Somme only wetter.  Months of rain had made it fit only for hippopotomi; God only knows how they managed to build the houses.

But before we actually moved in they had laid exquisite, Wimbledon quality turf all we needed was an umpires chair and strawberries and cream and we would have been away.

In the last couple of weeks we have taken delivery of some dwarf fruit trees (plum, pear, apple and cherry) and the wood to make some large raised beds.

Stupidly, impatiently, I filled the pots for the fruit trees with some magic expanding compost which was light to carry.  It didn’t look like it was expanding so I used a bag per pot – needless to say they now look something akin to the magic porridge pot.

Then our timber arrived for our raised beds.  We have made two large raised beds (2’6″ x 13′) and it’s been much better value than even the best value kit form raised beds. (£40 for both).

I have planted Coriander (cilantro), broad (fava) beans and spring onions (scallions) so far.  I am, as you can see, waiting for some more compost to be delivered.

Passionflowers and sweet peas are on the kitchen windowsill.  Herbs have been purchased today (thyme, rosemary, sage, dill, chives and oregano).  I have seeds ready to go and the compost will be here tomorrow.

Image

????????????????????My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

Can you tell I’m excited.  My mum sent me some money for these roses.  Chickens next year 🙂

18 comments

  1. Deb

    Building beds, like the ones you have, are my plans for my husband’s Easter break. They look great to grow in. How deep are the ones you made?

    • fionamaclachlanmorris

      hello Deb, they are 9 inches deep, deep enough for most veggies, perhaps not parsnips. We bought 4 pieces of 4.8m timber and cut them into 8 pieces, 4 pieces 4m long and 80cm wide.
      We intend to have potatoes in the bed nearest to the shed and we are not worried about the turf underneath.
      We found them much to be much cheaper than anything we can buy.

      • fionamaclachlanmorris

        Normally we could be going a bit earlier – and the fact I’m planting into compost means its not quite the same as into the earth.
        We have a generally very temperate climate here. We have had a cold last few weeks but the trees are all starting slowly into life and all the things I’ve put in so far are winter hardy. The worst that will happen to the Coriander is that it wont germinate until it’s warm enough. Where abouts are you?

      • Deb

        Our main home is Alberta, Canada with another home away from home in the Gulf Islands of BC, Canada. Where are you located?

      • fionamaclachlanmorris

        I’m in Plymouth, England. Most of britain has had snow this winter but we haven’t had even a flake! I have family in Canada and have been to Alberta (to Calgary) and a road trip over to Vancouver, then on to Victoria and up to Cortes Island where they had a cabin. They now live in Victoria. Beautiful, beautiful land but very different from here. I grew up in the small town of Falmouth which has a subtropical microclimate and enables gardeners to grow an amazing variety of things. We are very spoilt gardeners. Plymouth is slightly cooler being 75 miles NE but we have rarely had frosts in my 17 years here and only more commonly in the last 3 years, Probably only for about 5 or 6 days over this winter.

      • Deb

        We are 100 miles north of Calgary, and our other place is a 40 minute ferry ride from Victoria. My husband is actually from Wallasey across from Liverpool; we lived there when we were first married. My sister-in-law, her husband, and my nieces are still in the U.K..

      • Deb

        Blogging is amazing at showing how small the world is. I just looked at your esty store and you make some lovely items.

  2. ablessedpilgrim

    Congratulations on your new home. It is certainly very exciting to have a new place and spring always adds an extra fresh sense of excitement. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking A Memory Life Quilt. I enjoyed finding your blog. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

