Return of the native


So, I have been gone for a long time.

At the point of my last post I was in the process of gooutlander-blue-cover-198x300ing back to work. It became clear early on that posting would not be compatible with that particular environment.  It was a difficult time but it gave me the confidence to realise that I would not be defined by others opinions of me.  I have been in my new job for 6 months and it has been a very rejuvenating experience.

I am conscious that at points in my life I have made the decision to follow the advise of 1 Corinthians 13 and put away childish things.   At the end of my degree, I stopped writing and reading entirely.  When John was ill I gave up my dream to return to Scotland to live.  His illness has hobbled many hopes and dreams but I have realised that they are only slowed; if we wish to pursue them we can, we just have to reframe them.

At Christmas I got an Amazon Kindle Fire tablet. Since I started my new job in September, I read on the bus going to and from the little market town I now work in.  I had a kindle app for my phone but it was not a very comfortable read and so I organised my Christmas present. On Boxing Day I discovered the Outlander tv series.  Drawn in by the use of Gaelic, I was entranced from the first episode.  Perhaps it was the bounty of the season, perhaps it is my addictive personality but I binge watched seasons one and two. I was and am completely enchanted by it and soon discovered it was adapted from a series of books by Diana Gabaldon.

I meant only to read the first two, so that I was up-to-date with the series.  I was going to do a read along type of thing but at the end of book 2 I was not able to resist. I am now re-reading the series.

The books, the turn of the year, the anniversary of my own darling deceased Scot, started me on a journey of thought.  I can learn Gaelic, I can move back to Scotland, we can be a nation again…  and I will be there when we are.  Maybe not in this moment, but one day.  These are not childish things and I will not put them aside again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

